Thursday, June 04, 2009


I searched the internet for this for a while, but couldn't find what I was looking for. So I went back to the book I had read it in, War and Remembrance by Herman Wouk. The names of the gallant pilots and radiomen/gunners whose determination to do their duty and faith in a higher cause led to the US victory at Midway.

USS Yorktown

Torpedo Three


Lance E Massey, commanding

Descano, California

Richard W Suesens

Waterloo, Iowa

Wesley F. Osmus

Chicago, Illinois

David J. Roche

Hibbing, Minnesota

Patrick H. Hart

Los Angeles, California

John W. Haas

San Diego, California

Oswald A. Powers

Detroit, Michigan

Leonard L. Smith

Ontario, California

Curtis W. Howard

Olympia, Washington

Carl A. Osberg

Manchester, New Hampshire


Leo E. Perry

San Diego, California

Harold C. Lundy Jr.

Lincoln, Nebraska

Benjamin R. Dodson Jr.

Durham, North Carolina

Richard M. Hansen

Lakefield, Minnesota

John R. Cole

La Grange, Georgia

Raymond J. Darce

New Orleans, Louisiana

Joseph E. Mandeville

Manchester, New Hampshire

William A. Phillips

Olympia, Washington

Charles L. Moore

Amherst, Texas

Troy C. Barkley

Falkner, Mississippi

Robert B. Brazier

Salt Lake City, Utah


Harry L. Corl

Saginaw, Michigan

Wilhelm G. Esders

St Joseph, Missouri

Lloyd F. Childers

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

USS Enterprise

Torpedo Six


Eugene E. Lindsey, Commanding

San Diego, California

Severin L. Rombach

Cleveland, Ohio

John T. Eversole

Pocatello, Idaho

Randolph M. Holder

Jackson, Mississippi

Arthur V. Ely

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Flourenoy G. Hodges

Statesboro, Georgia

Paul J. Riley

Hot Springs, Arkansas

John W. Brock

Montgomery, Alabama

Lloyd Thomas

Chauncey, Ohio


Charles T. Grenat

Honolulu, Hawaii

Wilburn F. Glenn

Austin, Texas

John U. Lane

Rockford, Illinois

Gregory J Durawa

Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Arthur R. Lindgren

Montclair, New Jersey

John H. Bates

Valparaiso, Indiana

Edwin J. Mushinski

Tampa, Florida

John M. Blundell

Fort Wayne, Indiana

Harold F. Littlefield

Bennington, Vermont


Albert W. Winchell

Webster City, Iowa

Robert E. Laub

Richland, Missouri

Edward Heck, Jr.

Carthage, Missouri

Irvin H. McPherson

Glen Ellyn, Illinois

Stephen B. Smith

Mason City, Iowa

Douglas M. Cossitt

Oakland, California

William C Humphrey, Jr.

Milledgeville, Georgia

Doyle L. Ritchey

Ryan, Oklahoma

William D. Horton

Little Rock, Arkansas

Wilfred N. McCoy

San Diego, California

USS Hornet

Torpedo Eight


John C. Waldron, Commanding

Fort Pierre, South Dakota

James C Owens, Jr.

Los Angeles, California

Raymond A. Moore

Richmond, Virginia

Jefferson D. Woodson

Beverly Hills, California

George M. Campbell

San Diego, California

William W. Abercrombie

Merriam, Kansas

Ulvert M. Moore

Bluefield, West Virginia

William W. Creamer

Riverside, California

John P. Gray

Columbia, Missouri

Harold J. Ellison

Buffalo, New York

Henry R. Kenyon, Jr.

Mount Vernon, New York

William R. Evans, Jr.

Indianapolis, Indiana

Grant W. Teats

Sheridan, Oregon

Robert B. Miles

San Diego, California


Horace F. Dobbs

San Diego, California

Amelio Maffei

Santa Rosa, California

Tom H. Pettry

Ellison Ridge, West Virginia

Otway D Creasy, Jr.

Vinton, Virginia

Ronald J. Fisher

Denver, Colorado

Bernard P. Phelps

Lovington, Illinois

William F. Sawhill

Mansfield, Ohio

Francis S. Polston

Nashville, Missouri

Max A. Calkins

Wymore, Nebraska

George A. Field

Buffalo, New York

Darwin L. Clark

Rodney, Iowa

Ross E. Bibb, Jr.

Warrior, Alabama

Hollis Martin

Bremerton, Washington

Ashwell L. Picou

Houma, Louisiana

Robert K. Huntington

South Pasadena, California


George H. Gay

Houston, Texas

1 comment:

Ben said...

Hey Dave, why you put up with the abuse at TCS is beyond me but you have a good blog here and this was a very moving post. Freedom isn't free despite what DFLers like Timmer (Spot) and MNO think. And to comment about Geoff Michel he is a good guy and real. He literally knows me by name and he always has a smile on his face and is a really decent human being. Look for him to run, maybe even win. His "Q-rating" is going to be off the charts and if he is the nominee look for the DFL do to him what they tried to (and failed to) do to Erik Paulsen in the 3rd CD race last fall.